Skip to content

E-mails and Phone Conversations…

June 16, 2013

I recently watched a movie that included:

Three e-mail correspondences
and
Two phone conversations

IN THE FIRST TEN MINUTES!

If you are a screenwriter, do not do this. Please. Ever. With one exception. If the whole point of your movie is some statement on how we communicate in the digital age, I’ll let it go. But, if not, it is a horrible approach to screenwriting, because:

It is lazy.
It is not compelling.
I was zoning out within the first ten minutes.
And, I wanted to get violent at the film.

“But, it was made into a movie,” you say. Yeah, well… it proves some people who make movies don’t know how to make movies. Please don’t be one of those people and torture me with your inability to set-up a story. I may forgive, but I will not forget.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

